About the SEMC

The Southeastern Museums Conference (SEMC), nonprofit membership organization, is an association of museums, museum staff, independent professionals and corporate partners. We focus on the Southeastern United State including: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Puerto Rico, and US Virgin Islands.

We work to:

  • Provide educational and professional development opportunities
  • Improve the interchange of ideas and information
  • Encourage respect and collegiality

Contact Us: 
SEMC
 PO Box 550746 
Atlanta, GA 30355-3246
[404] 378-3153 Office 
[404] 814-2031 fax
EMAIL


OFFICERS

President

Darcie MacMahon
Director of Exhibits & Public Programs
Florida Museum of Natural History
Gainesville, FL
[352] 273-2053
dmacmahon@flmnh.ufl.edu

Vice President

Zinnia Willits 

Director of Collections and Operations
Gibbes Museum of Art
Charleston, SC
[843] 722-2706 ext. 232
zwillits@gibbesmuseum.org
Secretary
Robin Seage 
Person Branch Director
Historic Jefferson College
Washington, MS
[601] 442-2901
rperson@mdah.state.ms.us
Treasurer:

Robin Reed 
Director
Fort Monroe Casemate
Fort Monroe , VA
[757] 690.8062
rreed@fmauthority.com
Past President:

David Butler 
Executive Director
Knoxville Museum of Art
Knoxville, TN
[865] 524-1260
dbutler@knoxart.org
 


  

COUNCIL

Catherine Pears
Executive Director
Alexandria Museum of Art
Alexandria, LA
[318] 443-3458
cpears@lsua.edu

Michael Scott
Curator of Education
High Point Museum
High Point, NC
[336] 883-3023
Michael.scott@highpointnc.gov

Elise LeCompte
Registrar and Asst. Dept. Chair
Florida Museum of Natural History
Gainesville, FL
[352] 273-1925
lecompte@flmnh.ufl.edu

Heather Marie Wells
Digital Media Specialist
Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art
Bentonville, AR
[479] 418-5755
HeatherMarie.Wells@crystalbridges.org

Jenny Lamb
Discovery Center at Murfree Spring
Murfreesboro, TN
Jennylamb98@gmail.com

Deborah Mack
Associate Director Office of Strategic Partnerships
National Museum of African American History and Culture, Smithsonian Institution
Washington, D.C.
[202] 633-4513
MackDLynn@si.edu

Kyle Elizabeth Bryner
Registrar & Collections Manager
Museum of the Shenandoah Valley
Winchester, VA
[540] 662-1473, ext. 204
kbryner@theMSV.org

Brian Hicks
Director
Desoto County Museum
Hernando, MS
[662] 429-8852
director@desotomuseum.org

Deitrah J. Taylor
Perry, GA
[478] 320-4010
dtaylorhistorian@gmail.com

Julie Harris
Executive Director
River Discovery Center
Paducah, KY
[270] 575-9958
jharris@riverdiscoverycenter.org

Glenna Barlow
Manager of Engagement
Columbia Museum of Art
Columbia, SC
[803] 343-2187
glenna@columbiamuseum.org

Alexander V. Benitez
Director
Moundville Archaeological Park
The University of Alabama
Moundville, AL
[205] 371-8731
avbenitez@ua.edu